Analysis
MiCA's Transition Ended on 1 July 2026. Which Major Exchanges Made It
33 of 37 major brands are in ESMA's register; Binance, Bitget, MEXC and HTX are not. Deadlines by state, ESMA's wind-down rules and the non-compliant list.
MiCA's transitional period ended everywhere on 1 July 2026. From that date, ESMA says, “any entity providing crypto-asset services to EU clients without a MiCA licence will be in breach of EU law and must cease offering such services” (ESMA, 17 April 2026). On 21 Oct 2026, 33 of the 37 major brands we track had a company in ESMA's register. 4 did not.
Member States Set Different Deadlines
Article 143(3) of MiCA let existing providers continue under national law until 1 July 2026 at the latest. Member states could shorten that period. According to ESMA's list, the Netherlands, Hungary, Latvia, Slovenia, Finland and Poland chose 6 months, Sweden 9, and Germany, Ireland, Lithuania, Austria, Slovakia and Norway 12; the rest kept 18 months (ESMA list). National practice could differ from the list: Poland had no implementing law in force, and Norway extended its period to 30 June 2026 (see their state pages). The end date for each state is on its state page.
Major Exchanges and Apps: Who Is in the Register
| Brand | Status | Home state | Date | EEA states |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bit2Me | Spain | 31 Oct 2025 | 30 | |
| BitGo | Germany | 9 May 2025 | 30 | |
| Bitpanda | Austria · Malta | 27 Jan 2025 | 30 | |
| Bitvavo | Netherlands | 26 Jun 2025 | 30 | |
| Boerse Stuttgart Digital | Germany | 17 Jan 2025 | 30 | |
| Bybit | Austria | 28 May 2025 | 29 | |
| KuCoin | Austria | 27 Nov 2025 | 29 | |
| MoonPay | Netherlands | 30 Dec 2024 | 30 | |
| BBVA | Notified (Art. 60) | Spain | 5 Mar 2025 | 1 |
| N26 | Notified (Art. 60) | Germany | 14 May 2025 | 7 |
| Scalable Capital | Notified (Art. 60) | Germany | 2 Mar 2026 | 1 |
| Trade Republic | Notified (Art. 60) | Germany | 28 Apr 2025 | 30 |
| Vivid | Notified (Art. 60) | Netherlands | 1 May 2025 | 30 |
| Bitstamp | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Luxembourg | 15 May 2025 | 30 |
| Blockchain.com | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Malta | 22 Oct 2025 | 30 |
| Circle | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | France | 23 Apr 2026 | 30 |
| Clearstream | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Luxembourg | 7 Feb 2025 | 30 |
| Coinbase | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Luxembourg | 20 Jun 2025 | 30 |
| Crypto.com | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Malta | 27 Jan 2025 | 30 |
| eToro | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Cyprus | 16 Jan 2025 | 30 |
| Gate | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Malta | 29 Sep 2025 | 30 |
| Gemini | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Malta | 21 Aug 2025 | 30 |
| Kraken | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Ireland | 25 Jun 2025 | 30 |
| Lightyear | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Estonia | 17 Nov 2025 | 30 |
| OKX | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Malta | 27 Jan 2025 | 30 |
| Ramp | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Ireland | 2 Dec 2025 | 30 |
| Revolut | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Cyprus | 20 Oct 2025 | 29 |
| Robinhood | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Lithuania | 29 May 2025 | 30 |
| Skrill / NETELLER | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Ireland | 3 Dec 2025 | 30 |
| Societe Generale-FORGE | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | France | 23 Oct 2025 | 30 |
| Trading 212 | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Cyprus | 22 Sep 2025 | 30 |
| Young Platform | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Italy | — | 2 |
| Zodia Custody | In MiCA register (basis not stated) | Luxembourg | 12 Dec 2025 | 30 |
| MEXC | Named non-compliant by an NCA | — | — | — |
| Binance | Not in ESMA register | — | — | — |
| Bitget | Not in ESMA register | — | — | — |
| HTX (Huobi) | Not in ESMA register | — | — | — |
Source: ESMA CASPS.csv, read 21 Oct 2026. Brand grouping by VASP Tracker.
The Firms That Are Not
- Binance said on 24 June 2026 that it had withdrawn its MiCA application in Greece and would “pursue authorization in another EU Member State” (Binance, company). No Binance company is in the ESMA register.
- Bitget said on 2 July 2026 that Bitget EU had applied to Austria's FMA and would serve EU clients once authorised (Bitget, company).
- MEXC was named by the Dutch AFM on 16 September 2025 as providing crypto-asset services in the Netherlands without the required licence (ESMA non-compliant list, AFM).
- HTX (Huobi) has no entry in the register and we found no EU statement.
What Unauthorised Firms Must Do Now
ESMA's public statement of 23 June 2026 says unauthorised providers must immediately stop onboarding new EU clients and stop marketing, and may only help clients sell, transfer or close positions. Custody may continue only as long as strictly needed for an orderly exit (ESMA). Firms outside the EU cannot serve EU clients except under the narrow reverse-solicitation exemption (ESMA guidelines).
Authorities Are Naming Non-Compliant Firms
ESMA's list of non-compliant entities had 178 entries on 21 Oct 2026; 169 come from Italy's CONSOB, which orders blocks on unauthorised websites. The full list is on the non-compliant page.
Sources
- ESMA statement 17 Apr 2026 www.esma.europa.eu
- ESMA public statement 23 Jun 2026 www.esma.europa.eu
- ESMA grandfathering list www.esma.europa.eu
- ESMA CASPS.csv www.esma.europa.eu
- ESMA NCASP.csv www.esma.europa.eu