VASP TrackerEU MiCA crypto register English
Menu
Since 1 July 2026 every crypto-asset service provider serving EU clients needs MiCA authorisation · by member state

European Union / Analysis

Analysis

372 Firms Are in ESMA's MiCA Register. Where They Are and What They May Do

75 authorisations, 120 bank and broker notifications, 177 entries without a stated basis. Home states, services and passporting from ESMA's own file.

The short version: on 21 Oct 2026, ESMA's interim MiCA register listed 372 firms that may provide crypto-asset services in the EU (379 rows; 2 more were withdrawn). 120 are banks, investment firms and other already-regulated financial firms that only had to notify their crypto services (Article 60). 75 hold a new CASP authorisation (Article 63). For the other 177, the file does not say which route was used. 173 passport to 27 or more EEA states; 146 serve only their home state.

Where MiCA crypto-asset service providers are basedFirms in ESMA's interim register by home state, 21 Oct 2026. Germany: 106; France: 36; Netherlands: 28; Cyprus: 24; Malta: 23; Spain: 16; Luxembourg: 13; Austria: 12; Czechia: 12; Liechtenstein: 12; Latvia: 12; Ireland: 11; Italy: 10; Denmark: 7; Lithuania: 6Where MiCA crypto-asset service providers are basedFirms in ESMA's interim register by home state, 21 Oct 2026Germany106France36Netherlands28Cyprus24Malta23Spain16Luxembourg13Austria12Czechia12Liechtenstein12Latvia12Ireland11Italy10Denmark7Lithuania6Source: ESMA interim MiCA register (CASPS.csv). VASP Tracker
Top 15 home states. Source: ESMA CASPS.csv. Download: SVG · PNG · CC BY 4.0

Germany Dominates, Because of Its Banks

Germany is home to 106 of the 372 firms. 98 of them are notifications under Article 60, mostly savings and cooperative banks and securities firms that already had a German licence. Firms that need a new CASP authorisation have tended to choose other states: France (36), Netherlands (28), Cyprus (24), Malta (23), Spain (16). One authorisation is valid in every EEA state once the firm passports its services (Articles 59 and 65 of MiCA).

Most Entries Came in the Run-Up to 1 July 2026

New entries in the MiCA register per monthDec 24: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 3, Notified (Art. 60) 1, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 0; Jan 25: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 4, Notified (Art. 60) 0, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 3; 02: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 0, Notified (Art. 60) 0, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 2; 03: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 0, Notified (Art. 60) 2, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 1; 04: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 1, Notified (Art. 60) 5, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 0; 05: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 3, Notified (Art. 60) 4, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 4; 06: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 3, Notified (Art. 60) 0, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 5; Jul 25: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 1, Notified (Art. 60) 4, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 3; 08: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 1, Notified (Art. 60) 4, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 1; 09: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 2, Notified (Art. 60) 1, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 8; 10: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 5, Notified (Art. 60) 2, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 9; 11: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 7, Notified (Art. 60) 7, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 7; 12: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 4, Notified (Art. 60) 19, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 21; Jan 26: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 0, Notified (Art. 60) 2, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 6; 02: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 7, Notified (Art. 60) 2, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 5; 03: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 0, Notified (Art. 60) 9, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 5; 04: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 2, Notified (Art. 60) 2, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 7; 05: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 1, Notified (Art. 60) 2, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 14; 06: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 17, Notified (Art. 60) 3, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 48; Jul 26: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 11, Notified (Art. 60) 11, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 11; 08: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 0, Notified (Art. 60) 16, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 1; 09: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 0, Notified (Art. 60) 11, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 5; 10: MiCA authorised (Art. 63) 3, Notified (Art. 60) 12, In MiCA register (basis not stated) 0New entries in the MiCA register per monthBy date of authorisation or notificationMiCA authorised (Art. 63)Notified (Art. 60)In MiCA register (basis not stated)017.53552.570Dec 24Jan 25020350405506Jul 25088095910777111921126Jan 26750295037041405174806111111Jul 261608115091210Source: ESMA CASPS.csv. VASP Tracker
Entries by month of authorisation/notification date (11 without a full date excluded). Source: ESMA. Download: SVG · PNG · CC BY 4.0

The busiest month in the register was June 2026, the month before the last national transitional periods ended. Dates are the authorisation or notification dates in the ESMA file; 11 entries have no full date and are left out of the chart.

What Firms Are Allowed to Do

Which crypto-asset services firms may provideFirms offering each MiCA service, 21 Oct 2026. (a) custody: 230; (b) trading platform: 22; (c) exchange for funds: 187; (d) crypto-to-crypto: 137; (e) execution: 209; (f) placing: 35; (g) reception/transmission: 101; (h) advice: 45; (i) portfolio management: 59; (j) transfer: 216Which crypto-asset services firms may provideFirms offering each MiCA service, 21 Oct 2026(a) custody230(b) trading platform22(c) exchange for funds187(d) crypto-to-crypto137(e) execution209(f) placing35(g) reception/transmission101(h) advice45(i) portfolio management59(j) transfer216Source: ESMA CASPS.csv. VASP Tracker
Service codes as in Art. 3(1)(16) MiCA. Source: ESMA. Download: SVG · PNG · CC BY 4.0

MiCA lists ten crypto-asset services. Custody (a) and transfer services (j) are the most common; few firms operate a trading platform (b). Each firm page lists its services with ESMA's letter codes.

How to Read the Register

  • The ESMA file is an interim register compiled from national authorities' notifications. It is updated irregularly; the national register of the home state is the reference.
  • A row is a legal entity. We group a few rows into one well-known brand where the legal entity is clearly that brand's EU company (for example two Payward companies for Kraken).
  • “Basis not stated” means the legal-basis column is empty in ESMA's file. ESMA's field description says the date column is the date of authorisation, but for these rows we do not label them as Article 63 or Article 60.

Sources

  1. ESMA CASPS.csv www.esma.europa.eu
  2. ESMA MiCA page www.esma.europa.eu
  3. Regulation (EU) 2023/1114 eur-lex.europa.eu

Cite This Page

VASP Tracker, “372 firms are in ESMA's MiCA register. Where they are and what they may do”, https://vasptracker.com/en/eu/analysis/mica-casp-register-who-is-authorised/ (accessed 21 Oct 2026). CC BY 4.0.

Found an error? Report it · Corrections ·